Hiroshima Hana Hostel – The Perfect Base for Exploring the City

For my recent trip to Hiroshima, I wanted to find a good hostel that could be my base for 3 days of exploring and adventuring in and around the city. That hostel was Hana Hostel Hiroshima. I chose it because I know the brand well. They have hostels in many cities across Japan, including my city – Kyoto. They also offer special discounts when you stay with them multiple times as part of the J-Hoppers group. I stayed for 3 nights and got a 300 yen discount!

Location:

The hostel is just a few minutes walk from JR Hiroshima Station, which makes it super easy to get around. There’s also a taxi stand, bus station and streetcar station in the same place, so you’re pretty much covered for any kind of travel. It’s also a short walk to a convenience store, and there are plenty bars and restaurants nearby.

Sleeping:

CIMG1174

I stayed in one of the 4 bed, female dorm rooms. It had 2 bunk beds, air con, a clothes rail, and an en-suite bathroom. The beds were a little hard, but thats pretty much standard across Japan, and I still slept well, so not really a problem. The en-suite was pretty tiny, a lot of turning on the spot whilst showering! But, it was nice to not have to go to another floor, or wait for other people to finish. Overall, I was really happy with the room. This is the first hostel I’ve ever stayed in (apart from a couple of nights in London during a college trip), and I must admit, I really didn’t know what to expect, so I was really impressed with this place! Each bed had a curtain around it, kind of similar to a capsule hotel, so it was nice and private. Every bunk also had a shelf, towel rail, light, and two plugs.

CIMG1176

Facilities:

The hostel also has two living rooms, both with TV’s showing Japanese and English channels. They also have a number of books, games, and some origami paper to make your own paper cranes (which I did, and did quite well actually!). There’s also a computer, but the whole hostel has free wi-fi so feel free to bring your own. They sell soft drinks at reception, and there’s a beer machine in the first floor living room too. You can also rent towels, bikes, wash bags, and borrow umbrellas.

13411797_10154352263105572_3953986883319120717_o

Staff:

The staff here were extremely friendly, and had great English. They answered all my questions, with a smile, and had lots of information to hand. They even had tide times up on a board for Miyajima so you could plan accordingly. One time, I was looking for an onsen nearby and google was not much help, so I asked at reception. They didn’t know of any onsen outside of the bar area, a tram ride away. After living in Japan for 2 years, I find it very strange that were no public baths closer to the train station. Maybe Hiroshima just isn’t a fan of bathing, or maybe there was a hole in the staffs knowledge, I’m not too sure.

This was definitely a great place to stay, and made my time in Hiroshima relaxed and enjoyable. I recommend this as a place to stay, along with their other hostels around the country. Visit their website here for more details and booking information.

Share it on Pintrest:

HIROSHIMA

13 thoughts on “Hiroshima Hana Hostel – The Perfect Base for Exploring the City

  1. Stella the Travelerette says:

    Thanks for the tip! I was just in Hiroshima in April and I loved it. I especially enjoyed the cherry blossoms along the river and the okonomiyaki! So it’s nice to know about this the next time I go!

  2. Patricia says:

    Sounds like this place is in a great location! And it gets major bonus points from me for having an en-suite bathroom — so convenient even if it was small. I hate having to go to other floors or even down the hall and wait.

  3. jamporter says:

    All the hallmarks of a great hostel! I especially love that they have origami paper and that the bathrooms are so clean! Such a good touch for a hostel!!!

  4. Sarah says:

    Sounds like a nice place. I like the value of hostels but so often am let down by the shower facilities or just the serious lack of privacy.

  5. carla says:

    Thanks for sharing this, I plan to go back and visit Japan again, specially Kyoto in November and adding Hiroshima sounds great!

Leave a Reply

