Nibbling the Big Apple

My travels across America were pretty hectic. I was working over there, and we were travelling to a new state every week. Days off were sporadic, but we didn’t care. We were having so much fun! When the summer tour was finally over, we all went our separate ways for some travelling of our own. I took myself to New York City.

We had actually stopped off here a couple of times over the summer, but the first time I was drunk (and then hungover), and the time after we just flew through to watch a musical. So, this was my first real nibble at the big apple.

For my first day there, I decided to book onto a bus tour of the city – sometimes mainstream tourism is the way to go! The tour was great. While we were driving around the city, the tour guide pointed out all the big sites, and there were loads of stops along the way for pictures and exploration. I loved seeing the Strawberry fields, and kept my eyes super-peeled while walking past Yoko Ono’s apartment nearby. The highlight of this trip though, was visiting the 9/11 memorial. The memorial itself is an emotional sight to see, but what really hit me hard was our tour guide’s account of the day. He was working when it happened, and he told us all about how the city changed so quickly. Most of the group had tears in their eyes listening to his story. My tears weren’t in my eyes though, they were streaming down my face. It’s definitely one of the experiences I think everyone should have.

Part of this bus tour included a boat ride past the statue of liberty. Although I know many people chose to step foot on the island, or even climb the statue, but we just sailed past it. It would have been nice to get closer, but I still got an awesome view and got some (not so great) pictures of me in front of it thanks to the Chinese couple on the tour with me.

1238873_10151963424765572_1177394189_n

The next day was something I had always wanted to do – The Natural History Museum. I have always wanted to go and see the dinosaur skeletons here, so I had to be sure to make a trip while I was here. They really were amazing as well. But, I also booked myself tickets to every exhibition and show going! I saw a 4-D penguin movie narrated by David Attenborough, and the planetarium show narrated by Whoopi Goldberg. Penguins and space all in one day?! I was in heaven!

The best part of this whole trip though? I was alone. This was my first time really doing any kind of solo travelling; apart from a little jaunt to a Turkish bath the year before. It definitely filled me with confidence that I could do these kind of things on my own from now. It made me lose some of that fear and allowed me to travel to Nepal and Japan in the years to come. I heartily recommend anyone who is thinking of travelling alone to do it, and do it now – you (probably) won’t regret it!

I also dyed my hair pink in my hotel room here. Possibly the scariest part of the whole trip! But how cool did it look??

1080760_10151943302810572_1777810628_n.jpg

3 thoughts on “Nibbling the Big Apple

  1. Jim says:

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it
    is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things
    or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.

    I desire to read more things about it!

  2. Jim says:

    These are genuinely great ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some nice points here. Any way keep
    up wrinting.

Leave a Reply

